My List of Classics I’ve Never Read and Should

  • Thomas Mann’s Death in Venice
  • Any D.H. Lawrence novel
  • Shakespeare’s Histories (i.e. any of the Henry’s)
  • James Joyce’s A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man
  • Homer’s The Odyssey
  • Ernest Hemingway’s novels
  • Dostoevsky’s Crime and Punishment
  • Any Balzac
  • Herman Melville’s Moby Dick
  • Arthur Miller’s Death of a Salesman
  • Flaubert’s Madame Bovary
  • Any Edith Wharton
  • Oscar Wilde’s The Picture of Dorian Gray
  • Kate Chopin’s The Awakening
  • Kafka’s The Metamorphosis
  • Joseph Conrad’s The Heart of Darkness
  • Ayn Rand’s The Fountainhead
  • George Orwell’s 1984
  • Borges, Labrynths
  • Dante’s Inferno
  • Cervantes, Don Quixote

This was harder than I thought and I’m obviously missing a fair amount. Any suggestions would be appreciated. I mainly only thought about novels I haven’t read, so there is a fair amount of other things I’ve never read and should. My educational gaps in philosophy and the classics are quite impressive. I really should stop wasting time on the internet.

[I’ve been editing this as I’ve remembered more]

One comment

  1. Neither DH Lawerence nor Kate Chopin are nearly as sexy as the paintings on the covers of the soft-back editions of their books would have you believe.Also, Lermontov- A hero of our time.

Leave a Reply

